PCI PA-DSS Validation

PCI Payment Application Data Security Standard (PCI PA-DSS)

PCI PA-DSS is aimed at companies that develop software which processes card data of the international payment schemes American Express, Discover, JCB, MasterCard and Visa. Web-Shop software, payment solutions or client-management systems are examples of software products that need to be PCI PA-DSS certified. PCI PA-DSS aims to support secure software application development and to protect sensitive data (e.g. credit card data).

PCI PA-DSS certification helps you as a software developer to support your customers in their migration to PCI DSS. Independent evaluation and certification will not only benefit your customers but will also strengthen the trust in your products.

PCI PA-DSS Workshop

SRC supports and consults software developers in their implementation of the PCI Payment Application Data Security Standard requirements, for instance with an introductory Workshop. The Workshop has two main objectives: first of all to provide the service provider with a comprehensive understanding of the PCI PA-DSS requirements and their interpretation, in particular from an auditor’s perspective. Secondly, for SRC to gain a detailed understanding of the software, the software architecture, the development process and the implemented or planned security measures. As part of the Workshop scope, the evaluation methodology as well as the work items will be discussed.

PCI PA-DSS Software Validation

SRC provides software validation on the basis of the PCI PA-DSS requirements. More specific, our evaluation is based on the „Payment Card Industry (PCI) Payment Application Data Security Standard - Requirements and Security Assessment Procedures “ document, which summarises the software requirements with respect to the PCI Data Security Standard. In scope of the validation, SRC will evaluate to what extent the documented requirements have been implemented.

The PCI PA-DSS validation will be performed stepwise:

  • Pre-analysis and evaluation of manufacturer documents
  • Software validation
  • Onsite audit/interviews
  • Drafting and finalising the report

After positive evaluation of the PCI PA-DSS Software Validation results by the PCI SSC, the application software respectively the product will be listed on the “List of validated payment applications”, available on the Internet.

Contact Persons

Thilo W. Pannen
Detlef Kraus

sdpais[at]src-gmbh.de
Telephone: +49(0)228 2806-166
Telefax: +49(0)228 2806-199

PCI DSS Newsletter

Since 1 July 2008 we offer the opportunity to subscribe to our free of charge newsletter. If you are interested, please send a mail message to  pci-news[at]src-gmbh.de with subject "subscribe".

PCI PA-DSS Validierung

PCI Payment Application Data Security Standard (PCI PA-DSS)

Der PCI PA-DSS richtet sich an Unternehmen, die Software entwickeln, mit der Kartendaten der internationalen Zahlungssysteme American Express, Discover, JCB, MasterCard und Visa, verarbeitet werden. Web-Shop Software, Payment-Solutions oder Customer-Management-Systeme sind Beispiele für Softwareprodukte, die sich nach dem PCI PA-DSS zertifizieren lassen. Ziel des PCI PA-DSS ist die Unterstützung von Software Herstellern bei der Entwicklung sicherer Anwendungen, sowie die Sicherung sensibler Daten (z.B. Kreditkartendaten).
Mit einer PCI PA-DSS Zertifizierung unterstützen Sie als Software-Hersteller Ihre Kunden bei deren Umsetzung von PCI DSS. Damit profitieren nicht nur Ihre Kunden sondern auch Sie, da Sie mit der Prüfung durch einen unabhängigen Dritten und dem Zertifikat das Vertrauen in Ihr Produkt stärken.

PCI PA-DSS Workshop

SRC unterstützt und berät Software Hersteller bei der Umsetzung der Anforderungen des PCI Payment Application Data Security Standard bei Software-Produkten z.B. mittels eines einführenden Workshops. Das Ziel des Workshops ist es, auf der einen Seite ein klares Verständnis für die Anforderungen des PCI PA-DSS und dessen Interpretationen zu vermitteln und auf der anderen Seite einen umfassenden Überblick über die Software, die Software-Architektur, den Entwicklungsprozess sowie die umgesetzten oder geplanten Sicherheitsmaßnahmen zu gewinnen. Ebenso werden im Rahmen dieses Workshops die Vorgehensweise zur Durchführung der Software Validation sowie die anstehenden Arbeitsschritte abgestimmt.

PCI PA-DSS Software Validation

SRC führt die Software-Validation auf der Basis der Anforderungen des PCI PA-DSS durch. Grundlage der Untersuchung bildet das Dokument „Payment Card Industry (PCI) Payment Application Data Security Standard - Requirements and Security Assessment Procedures“, das die Anforderungen an eine Software im Hinblick auf den PCI Data Security Standard beschreibt.
Im Rahmen der Validierung prüft SRC, in welchem Umfang die in dem Dokument aufgeführten Anforderungen durch das Produkt erfüllt und umgesetzt werden.
SRC wird die Validierung schrittweise wie folgt durchführen:

  • Voranalyse und Review der Herstellerdokumente
  • Software-Validierung
  • Vor-Ort Analyse/Interviews
  • Erstellen des Reports

Nach einer positiven Prüfung der Ergebnisse der PCI PA-DSS Software Validation durch das PCI SSC wird die Software bzw. das Produkt in die im Internet verfügbare „List of validated payment applications“ aufgenommen.

Ansprechpartner

Thilo W. Pannen
Detlef Kraus

sdpais[at]src-gmbh.de
Telefon: +49(0)228 2806-166
Telefax: +49(0)228 2806-199

PCI DSS Newsletter

Seit 1. Juli 2008 versendet SRC einen kostenlosen PCI DSS Newsletter in englischer Sprache. Bei Interesse, senden Sie eine Mail an pci-news[at]src-gmbh.de mit dem Betreff "subscribe".