PCI DSS - One-Stop Consulting, Certification and Implementation by SRC

SRC offers support and consultation in implementing the requirements of PCI DSS as well as the performance of the so called PCI Compliance Validation. SRC’s PCI DSS projects are based on a well-proven process, which typically includes the following five steps:

  1. Workshop: knowledge sharing on background and interpretation of the PCI DSS and project kick-off;
  2. Scope analysis: identification and definition of the scope of the PCI DSS;
  3. Gap analysis/Pre-audit: comparison of target and actual status to identify gaps on the way to implement the requirements of PCI DSS;
  4. Remediation: development of a short-, mid- and long-term project plan to address the identified gaps and their implementation in consideration of business environment and risk assessment
  5. Compliance validation: the compliance with the PCI DSS requirements is validated and reported

The workshop will provide the background necessary to move further in the PCI DSS implementation process aiming at the PCI DSS Compliance Validation, whose preparation includes the definition of the scope of the audit and the conduction of a gap analysis. Based on the results of the gap analysis, the remediating measures can be planned and implemented.

Step 1: PCI DSS Workshop

At the beginning of the PCI DSS certification process, a consultant of SRC will conduct a workshop on the basis of the requirements given in “PCI Data Security Standard - Requirements and Security Assessment Procedures”, and the respective requirements of the payment schemes.

The workshop has two main objectives including knowledge transfer from two sides:

  1. Introduction into the requirements of PCI DSS and their interpretations, in particular from an auditor’s perspective.
  2. SRC gains insight into the customer’s policies, business processes, applications and systems which will be in the scope of PCI DSS.

A comprehensive and mutual understanding is, according to the experiences of SRC, of critical importance for an efficient and effective implementation of the PCI DSS as well as a successful compliance validation process. Only by this, the scope of PCI DSS, its impact on the organisation, different options and implementation strategies can be assessed. The workshop is targeting the staff responsible for processes, applications and systems, in which card data is stored, processed or transmitted, i.e. product managers, process managers and system and network administrators.

Step 2: Scoping

The PCI DSS is applicable for all systems, applications and processes that store, process or transmit cardholder data. To define the scope of the assessment, SRC has developed a guideline, which supports you in the complete identification of the PCI DSS relevant systems and applications. SRC’s experiences show that regularly areas and applications are identified during the assessment which have not been classified as PCI DSS relevant before the scoping process.

Step 3: Gap-Analyse/Pre-Audit

To get an overview about the current status of a company with regards to the implementation of the requirements of the PCI DSS applied on the previously defined scope of assessment, a gap analysis/pre-audit will be performed. This process includes interview with the corresponding departments responsible for payment processing and the corresponding components as well as auditing of system configurations.

In doing so, SRC compares the already implemented organisational (access control), technical (including Firewalls, Clients, networks, IDS/IPS) and process oriented measures (e.g. User-Account Management) with the requirements as describes in the “PCI DSS Requirements and Security Assessment Procedures” document. The gap analysis/pre-audit is mainly based on a regular PCI DSS Security Audit and will identify those deviations which have to be eliminated for truly becoming PCI DSS compliant.

Step 4: Remediation

SRC supports you in planning the measures to implement the requirements of PCI DSS. The measures to be taken will be coordinated with the customer and will consider the short, mid and long term planning.

In close cooperation with the customer SRC will give an estimation for each single system, application and business process regarding the required resources, expenses and timeframe for the required implementation.

Step 5: PCI DSS Compliance Validation

The PCI DSS Compliance Validation will be performed according to the merchant/service provider level by:

Contact Persons

Thilo W. Pannen
Detlef Kraus

sdpais[at]src-gmbh.de
Telephone: +49(0)228 2806-166
Telefax: +49(0)228 2806-199

PCI DSS Newsletter

Since 1 July 2008 we offer the opportunity to subscribe to our free of charge newsletter. If you are interested, please send a mail message to  pci-news[at]src-gmbh.de with subject "subscribe".

PCI DSS - Beratung, Zertifizierung und Umsetzung von SRC aus einer Hand

SRC bietet sowohl die Unterstützung und Beratung bei der Umsetzung der Anforderungen des PCI DSS an, wie auch die Durchführung der sog. PCI DSS Compliance Validation.
SRC orientiert sich in PCI DSS-Projekten an einer vielfach bewährten Vorgehensweise, die typischerweise fünf Schritte umfasst:

  1. Workshop: Hintergründe und Interpretation des PCI DSS
  2. Scoping: Definition des Geltungs- und Anwendungsbereichs
  3. Gap-Analyse/Pre-Audit: Analyse des Ist-Zustands und Identifikation von ggf. vorhanden Abweichungen vom Soll-Zustand, d.h. der Umsetzung der Anforderungen des PCI DSS
  4. Remediation: Ausarbeitung eines Maßnahmenplans (kurz-, mittel- und langfristig) unter Berücksichtigung der Rahmenbedingungen und der Risikoeinschätzung zur Beseitigung der Abweichungen sowie Umsetzung der Maßnahmen
  5. Compliance Validation: Nachweis der Umsetzung des PCI DSS

Mit dem Workshop werden die Grundlagen für alle nachfolgenden Arbeiten zur Vorbereitung auf die PCI DSS Compliance Validation gelegt, d.h. für die Bestimmung des Anwendungsbereichs (Scoping), die Durchführung eines Soll-/Ist-Vergleichs (Gap-Analyse) sowie die Planung und Umsetzung von Maßnahmen (Remediation).

Step 1: PCI DSS Workshop

Ein Berater von SRC führt zu Beginn der PCI DSS Zertifizierung einen Workshop auf der Basis der in den „PCI Data Security Standard, Requirements and Security Assessment Procedures“ genannten Anforderungen und den Vorgaben der Zahlungssysteme durch.
Der einführende Workshop beinhaltet den Wissenstransfer in zwei Richtungen:

  1. Vorstellung der Anforderungen des PCI DSS und deren Interpretation, insbesondere aus der Sicht eines Auditors, und
  2. Vorstellung der Anwendungen, Systeme und Prozesse beim Kunden.

Gemäß den Erfahrungen von SRC stellt das gemeinsame und wechselseitige Verständnis eine unerlässliche Grundlage für eine effiziente und effektive Umsetzung des PCI DSS sowie der Compliance Validation dar. Nur damit lassen sich die Auswirkungen des PCI DSS sowie die möglichen Umsetzungsstrategien und Handlungsoptionen bewerten.Der Workshop richtet sich an die Verantwortlichen der Prozesse, Anwendungen und Systeme, in denen Kartendaten gespeichert, verarbeitet oder weitergeleitet werden, d.h. Produktmanager, Prozessverantwortliche und System- und Netzwerkadministratoren.

Step 2: Scoping

Der PCI DSS betrifft alle Systeme, Anwendungen und Prozesse, in denen Kartendaten gespeichert, verarbeitet und weitergeleitet werden. Um den Anwendungsbereich festzulegen, hat SRC einen Leitfaden entwickelt, der die Verantwortlichen bei der vollständigen Identifikation und Erfassung der für PCI DSS relevanten Systeme und Anwendungen unterstützt. Die Erfahrungen von SRC zeigen, dass regelmäßig Bereiche bzw. Anwendungen identifiziert werden, die bislang als für PCI DSS nicht relevant eingestuft wurden.

Step 3: Gap-Analyse/Pre-Audit

Um einen Überblick über den aktuellen Stand eines Unternehmen in Bezug auf die Anforderungen des PCI DSS für den zuvor definierten PCI DSS-Geltungsbereich zu erhalten, werden im Rahmen der Gap-Analyse/des Pre-Audits sowohl Interviews mit den Fachbereichen zu den kartenverarbeitenden Prozessen und zugehörigen Komponenten geführt als auch Systemeinstellungen auditiert.
Dafür vergleicht SRC die bereits umgesetzten organisatorischen (Zugangsschutz), technischen (inkl. Firewalls, Clients, Netze, IDS/IPS) und prozessbezogenen Maßnahmen (z.B. User-Account Management) mit den Anforderungen, wie sie in dem Dokument “PCI DSS Requirements and Security Assessment Procedures” beschrieben sind. Die Gap-Analyse/das Pre-Audit orientiert sich an einem regulären PCI DSS Security Audit und wird jene Abweichungen identifizieren, die für eine vollständige PCI DSS-Konformität zu beseitigen sind.

Step 4: Remediation

SRC unterstützt bei der Planung der Maßnahmen zur Umsetzung der Anforderungen des PCI DSS. Die zu ergreifenden Maßnahmen sind mit dem Auftraggeber abzustimmen und müssen die kurz-, mittel- und langfristigen Planungen berücksichtigen.

In enger Abstimmung mit dem Auftraggeber wird SRC je System, Anwendung und Geschäftsprozess eine Einschätzung der erforderlichen Ressourcen, Aufwände und des Zeitbedarfs für die erforderlichen Anpassungsarbeiten geben.
SRC wird mögliche Umsetzungsszenarien, jeweilige Vor- und Nachteile, Anwendung von sog. „Compensating Controls“ oder Auswirkungen auf andere Systeme oder Dritte mit dem Auftraggeber abzustimmen.

Step 5: PCI DSS Compliance Validation

Die PCI DSS Compliance Validation erfolgt in Abhängigkeit von der Einstufung des Händlers oder Service Providers anhand von

Ansprechpartner

Thilo W. Pannen
Detlef Kraus

sdpais[at]src-gmbh.de
Telefon: +49(0)228 2806-166
Telefax: +49(0)228 2806-199

PCI DSS Newsletter

Seit 1. Juli 2008 versendet SRC einen kostenlosen PCI DSS Newsletter in englischer Sprache. Bei Interesse, senden Sie eine Mail an pci-news[at]src-gmbh.de mit dem Betreff "subscribe".